Bad, Bad Bar.

November 1, 2007 at 8:55 pm 1 comment

The other night I went to a bar called Rosemary’s Greenpoint Tavern on trendy Bedford Avenue in Brooklyn, expecting a good time becuase I heard they had the best Halloween decorations around. The bar gave me a good fright, indeed, but it wasn’t because of the skeletons and witches hanging from the ceiling. It was because of this:
styrofoam-cup.jpg
AAAAAHHHH!!!!! (imagine a woman screeching like in a Hitchkock film or something).

The bar’s specialty, it turned out, was a liter-sized beer for $6, which it served in massive, hideous styrofoam cups. I’d never met a beer that I didn’t like until I met this one. I mean, really. What’s so hard about getting some big cups and washing them out? Is it really too much to ask? I would think not, considering EVERY OTHER BAR I’VE EVER BEEN TO IN NEW YORK USES REAL GLASSES. And that’s a lot of bars.

Anyways, styrofoam cups are ridiculous and I hope that Rosemary will wake up to this reality. Until then, I’m not going to frequent the joint, and I may even write a strongly-worded letter to the establishment. 

Entry filed under: conservation, guilty displeasures, rant time.

Soft, Green Skin Green TV

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. amanda  |  November 16, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    I’m afraid Rosemary’s has been serving beer in Styrofoam for more than a decade.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


