Mini Greenhouse!

November 14, 2007 at 5:46 pm 1 comment

This past weekend I finally got around to building my mini greenhouse, and I must say I’m pretty proud of it. All of the materials I used were scrap, either scavenged from my home and neighborhood or purchased from this really amazing store called Build it Green located in beautiful Astoria Queens:
build-it-green-3.jpg
The place is huge and it’s chock full of salvaged building materials from demolished homes, play and movie sets and who knows where else. I was able to find 4 perfect-sized windows with hinges already on them for my greenhouse, as well as a huge bag of old bubble wrap for insulation and filling in cracks.

The greenhouse is very tiny and pretty basic, but I’m happy with it:
gh3.jpg
These pictures were actually taken before I completed it, but you get the idea. I planted some brocolli and lettuce seeds in it so far, and transplanted a couple of pepper plants and a rosemary bush in there, too. Hopefully it will keep them all warm enough so they grow for a couple more months – I doubt they’ll survive February, which is traditionally really, really cold but until then I might be able to get a couple of edibles out of it.

Regardless, the thing looks pretty sweet and I can at least use it to start some plants in the spring time. I’ll let you know how it turns out…

Entry filed under: crafts, gardening.

Corny Mistake Garbage Game

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


