Our first snow and last harvest

December 10, 2007 at 4:40 pm Leave a comment

snowherbs.jpg

Last week we got our first real snow here in New York, which meant that I had to run outside and salvage what was left of my herb garden. I managed to clip some sage, parsley and a little rosemary. It’s sad to admit that I won’t be getting any fresh herbs for several months, but I managed to dry some of the herbs that I grew and hopefully those will last a little while.

But check it out! My mini greenhouse is still standing, and there’s even some greenery staying alive inside it!

snowhouse.jpg

I transplanted a rosemary bush in there and it’s doing well, and the broccoli and spinach that I planted (from seeds) a few weeks ago have sprung up already – hopefully they’ll grow to full-fledged veggies someday. It’s exciting to see that my little experiment is working so far – it’s actually keeping the soil and air inside the house warm!

More updates to come, as well as my winter potato garden experiment (which I have yet to commence but will probably get to around the New Year.

Entry filed under: gardening. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Green Gifts Junk for Christmas

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


