Xmas Wrap-Up

December 30, 2007 at 11:16 pm 1 comment

wrapping-paper.jpg

Hi! Welcome back. It’s been a week of cookies and booze and holiday stress cheer. I’ve been in Massachusetts and Vermont visiting family and now I’m back in my cozy apartment with my cats and it’s nice to be home.

As always, the holiday was awash with presents. I got lots of goodies and gave a few, too. I carefully unwrapped gifts this year so as to keep the wrapping paper and ribbon in reusable condition (as seen above). Now it’s just a matter of remembering that this bag of wrapping paper is in my closet when it’s time to give again next year. I’m sure that it will come in handy for birthdays and whatnot over the next few months, too.

Most of the paper that I wrapped gifts in this year won’t be saved because it was already reused. I used magazine pages and ads and grocery bags this year, and it came out pretty good, see:

xmas-presents.jpg

I think that the jewelry ads and full-page photos from the magazines I had worked best. This paper went straight to the recycling bins at my parents’ houses (yes, houses – my parents are four in number and double in marriage – it can get confusing but pays off big on Christmas morning). Magazine paper, like wrapping paper, may be shiny, but is, indeed recyclable (pretty much all paper is recyclable, so when in doubt – if it’s paper – don’t trash it).

I also used cloth ribbon instead of plastic. It lasts longer and is therefore more reusable. Similarly inspired, my mom wrapped a bunch of the gifts she gave this year in new hand towels and small blankets – sorry, no photo available for this one. But I do have a photo of these little buggers:

tags.jpg

Little tags  that come on clothing, small toys, etc. These should end up in the recycling bin. Same goes for cards, scraps of paper from gifts and other holiday whatnot, tissue paper, paper bags (if torn or not reusable), cardboard boxes, etc, etc. Tisn’t the season to get lazy, so I’m trying my best to make sure that even the tiniest garbage is properly sorted. ho ho ho and happy recycling.

Entry filed under: conservation, crafts, recycling.

A Genetically-Engineered Empire Armed and Ready to Cook

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Clean Slate « Green with Envy, Riddled with Guilt  |  January 5, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    […] seeds from Seeds of Change. I also wrapped the presents that I gave in the paper that I saved last year. But for the most part, this Christmas was a nauseating display of consumption and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


