New Year, New Opportunities

January 1, 2008 at 11:09 pm 1 comment

Happy New Year!!

I must say, most New Years come and go with little significance for me – usually it just means I have to remember to write a new number on checks and whatnot. But 2008 is a year I’ve been waiting for for a long time – nearly 4 years, in fact. And I don’t want to get too political here, but I don’t think you have to be political to realize that it’s time for our current president to hit the road and make way for somebody that actually is up for the job of leading our country.

Aside from the upcoming regime change, 2008 also offers us each a chance to make change on a small, less national level. I’ve never had much success with the New Years Resolution. In fact, if I remember correctly, last year I promised myself to do 10 push-ups a day, and so far I’ve completed about 25 of them (total). But that doesn’t mean that I should give up. I’ve managed to integrate lots of positive changes in my life over the years, all it took was time and determination.

As a child, for instance, I had trouble giving up my finger-sucking habit (similar to thumb-sucking, only weirder), and ended up carrying around a ragged blanky at an embarrassingly old age and growing in some petty gnarly teeth. Some might have predicted at the time that I would never grow out of this 10-year phase, but with support (and nagging) from my family, I managed to overcome the habit and now I only occasionally dabble in chewing on my appendages.

This year, my resolution is simple, small, and inspired by a Christmas present that Boyfriend gave me:

hankies.jpg

Hankies!

Yes, I’m going to give up disposable tissues and use hankies instead. I actually started the new practice yesterday, and it went pretty well. Depending on how runny my nose is, I think I’ll probably go through about one every two days, and wash them with my laundry every weekend. I’ll let you know how it goes -the upcoming Jan/Feb cold season will certainly put the hankies to the test so I’ll be certain to share with you stories about inevitable and embarrassing subway snot fiascoes.

And if you’re looking for something green to add to your life this year, you might get some good ideas by reading what people on Wisebread are resolving to do. The little changes we make can really add up big, so picking something that’s easy to integrate into your daily routine is probably a better choice than making a bigger change that you’re less likely to carry out. Good luck and happy New President Year!!

Entry filed under: conservation, health and beauty, recommended.

Armed and Ready to Cook Flower Bulb Update

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Clean Slate « Green with Envy, Riddled with Guilt  |  January 5, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    […] slate. I’m not sure if I want to make an actual resolution, although I did have success with last year’s resolution (there’s a snot-filled hanky on the table next to me as I write this now). The changes that I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


