The Power Cooking Challenge

January 11, 2008 at 6:16 pm 4 comments

hand-mixer.jpg

 I love to cook, and I love having good tools to cook with. Sharp knives, big shiney mixing bowls, wisks – these all make me very happy for some reason. Over the past couple of years I’ve managed to collect a few nice gadgets for my kitchen that have brought my cooking to a whole new, more delicious level, and I really don’t want to live without them. The problem? They’re electronic, meaning they’re diabolical and highly guilt-worthy.

Anyone who has ever whipped egg whites or heavy cream into frothy white peaks by hand can relate to my love for the electronic hand mixer. Hand mixers and cuisinarts and coffee grinders are the tools that separate the modern cook from the cave man (who I believe is known to have bought his coffee pre-ground). These tools hold places of honor in my kitchen, and although I certainly do not have to plug-in every time I make a meal, I am sure to bust them out at least once a week. And every time I weep the tears of a thousand lost kilowatt hours.

So, should I abandon power-cooking altogether? Fat chance. You’ll have to pry that cuisinart out of my cold, dead hands to get me to give it up. But I’m also not willing to live with the guilt.

The challenge: get a small generator that I can power myself – using solar, wind or human energy – and run my small electronics off of it. I found this online – Human Power Generator – and it looks pretty sweet, but it requires making it myself and I’m not very confident in my skills as an electrician. In fact, all I can find online, are more sites like this that instruct you in making your own generator. Why doesn’t anyone manufacture small human-powered generators for running home electronics? WHYYYY!!???

This is frustrating. Please write to me if you’ve got any leads. I’m going to keep working on this, and I’ll definitely let you know if I find anything.

Entry filed under: energy, food, guilty displeasures, rant time.

Flower Bulb Update Green Skincare

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jude Kallok  |  January 11, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    I went to the human generator like, and they claim to sell an assembled version.

    Reply
  • 2. gwen  |  January 14, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    You’re right – I somehow missed that. But it costs $339!! And that’s without the battery setup, too.

    There’s got to be a better way. Or maybe this company (econvergence) will just start making more to get their prices down.

    The search continues…

    Reply
  • 3. People Power « Green with Envy, Riddled with Guilt  |  January 30, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    […] my search for a human-powered generator (to fuel my Cuisinart and other gadgets), I’m finding that one of my best options is just to avoid buying and using […]

    Reply
  • 4. spofford  |  May 10, 2008 at 12:38 am

    This message for Jude Kallok.
    If this is the same Jude that I know, all I can say is “YOU GO GIRL!”. You know I would never ever give up my electronic devices, be they used in the kitchen or elsewhere in the home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


