People Power

January 30, 2008 at 6:45 pm 1 comment

alarmclockfront.jpg

Isn’t this a sweet new alarm clock? I bought it for myself the other day, after the cheap plastic one I’d been using for three years self-destructed. I didn’t want to get another cheap one, because I need an alarm clock that will be with me for the long-haul, so I looked for a sturdy, metal model that could put up with my morning crankiness, as well as being repeatedly knocked off my night stand by my cats.

So this is the clock I found. I bought it at a small local appliance store and it’s nice and sturdy, which is great, but it has one more feature that I think is totally cool: it’s people-powered.

Now, many of us may look at the back of this alarm clock in confusion and perhaps mild disdain, because it’s quite old-fashioned. I, however, see it as a symbol of the future.

alarmclockback.jpg

This clock doesn’t require batteries or a power outlet – all it needs is a little winding. And what’s more, it’s easy to wind up and set (although I admit I’d never used one of these before so I did have to spend a couple of minutes with the instruction booklet).

In my search for a human-powered generator (to fuel my Cuisinart and other gadgets), I’m finding that one of my best options is just to avoid buying and using electronics altogether. Don’t get me wrong – I’m not giving up my quest for a small, me-powered electrical source – but I am trying my best to keep things electricity-free in the mean time.

And this alarm clock is a small, simple addition to my home that will help me minimize my electricity use. And since it makes me so happy when I look at it, it may even help me get over that crankiness issue.

Entry filed under: clothes, shoes and other goodies (or badies), conservation, energy, recommended.

Winter Greenhouse Update Tuna Test

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Helen  |  January 31, 2008 at 1:05 am

    A wind up clock! That brings back memories. (before your time, sweetie). Nice choice. I see it’s Acu-Rite – I can’t find it anywhere on web… hmm. I’m using electricity instead of beating the pavement to my local stores. (by the way, I have started to use “hibernate” on my PC instead of leaving it on all the time. Am I being good?)

    Back to the clock. Bet it has a nice strong ring. I’ve been reluctant to replace my alarm clock – the batteries cost as much as the clock ! And you can never tell what kind of sound these electronic ones make.
    Just one requirement, however. Does it have a snooze button?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


