Compost in the City

February 20, 2008 at 3:43 pm 3 comments

compost.jpg

Most people probably don’t find compost very sexy, but I’m actually quite passionate about it. Organic waste, like food scraps, sticks, leaves, dried flowers, etc. aren’t really “waste” at all – they’re potential dirt. And dirt is good. All you really need is a bin and some worms, and you can trun your food waste and yard scraps into nutrient-rich soil for your garden. And in New York, which is plagued by soil shortage and an expensive waste disposal system, compostable garbage should be coveted.

Unfortunately, most New Yorkers send these nuggets of nutrients to the dump rather than keeping them around. And I really can’t blame them. There isn’t much space in the city for composting – even if you have the cahones to set up an indoor worm bin, most New Yorkers don’t have enough space inside their apartments to squeeze one into. The city should really set up a more effective system for collecting yard and food waste (right now all we’ve got is a yard waste collection program). But that’s not the point of my writing today – I’m here to discuss a more urgent and somewhat personal matter.

My apartment, as you may know, has an outdoor deck area with plenty of space for composting. As you may not know, however, is that Boyfriend and I are leaving the city at the end of this month and heading out on a road trip (more on that later). This means that I have to somehow get rid of my compost before the next tenants arrive to take over our (beautiful) home and garden. And I can imagine that they’re not going to want to deal with this:

compost2.jpg

So basically, I have about 200 pounds of partially-digested compost to get rid of. I know that the Union Square farmers market has a drop-off area where you can leave small quantities of the stuff, but that won’t work for me considering the sheer quantity we’re dealing with here. The New York City Compost project, which is a great organization that helps people get their own compost bins set up, provides this list of orgs and gardens that deal with compost. Unfortunately, most of the gardens don’t take compost till the summertime, and I need to get rid of this stuff by the end of March. What’s a girl to do?

I’m just going to keep hunting around – it’s possible that I can try and get a community garden to accept this stuff before their summer composting season starts up. Wish me luck.

Entry filed under: conservation, gardening, recycling. Tags: , , , , , , .

Pie Pockets Potentially AWESOME

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. terra  |  February 25, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Maybe a school science department would like to take some. You could spread the wealth to several schools. 😉

    I set up a compost bin, but found that my husband & I are irresponsible worm parents. No casualties… we just don’t like it, and the compost bin ends up too wet, which the wormies don’t like. So, we’re donating our compost to the local high school. As soon as we find someone who can lift it!

    Reply
  • 2. kee  |  February 28, 2008 at 5:03 am

    oh my goodness! you speak my language, girl… i LOVE my composters, too! in the city it’s all worms under my butcher block and a more traditional compost pile in the country place… isn’t it SO fun to see the whole circle of life there before your eyes?
    just found your blog… will definitely be checking back for more.
    kindest regards……….

    Reply
  • 3. Moving Out « Green with Envy, Riddled with Guilt  |  March 9, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    […] it’s wasteful, so the whole moving out process was rather stressful. Plus, we had about 3o0 pounds of partially-digested compost to get rid of, and a truck to rent, and a couple of cats to pack up and relocate to their […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts


