Garden Update

March 18, 2009 at 7:08 pm 1 comment

garden3My garden is still a ways away from the green eden that I imagine it will be in a few months, but it’s coming along. Last weekend my dad came down to visit and brought a little electric chain saw that my grandpa used to use in his own tiny back yard in Jersey back in the 80s. We used it to cut down some dead trees that were hanging precariously over the garden (one of them already fell down a few weeks ago on a particularly windy day), and then chop up the tree branches and trunks to use as fire wood and for lining out my garden beds. The beds are still empty and I need to get some more good compost to fill them with, but it’s exciting to see where my food will be growing this summer. I plan to get test the yard soil tested to make sure I don’t end up poisoning myself – I hear you can send it to Rutgers and they’ll test it for you. Which reminds me, I should call them. Later!

Entry filed under: food, gardening. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

One Chicken, Two Meals Lazy blogger, mediocre environmentalist

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stephen (Esteban) Bartlett  |  March 24, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Read an article circulated on our listserve for the US Food Crisis Working Group, posted on a link, then found these blog pieces. Found myself laughing at the glib sarcasm in the piece about the White House Garden and downer cows…the USDA, EPA, FDA “doing its job” leaving us food activist close to becoming unemployed (quite a funny exaggeration), with the added comment “they might have to become chefs or farmers”. That is what we are dying to do, don’t you know!! I am doing urban farming and training children and adults in gardening and hand tool farming (plus some plowing with two Percheron’s of a farmer friends’). Here in Louisville, Kentucky.

    It would be wonderful to get your email so we could exchange social movement information… April 17 will be a big day in Chicago, with Via Campesina North America staging our first national protest on Intl. Day of Peasant Resistance, at the Chicago Mercantile Exchange (bastion of price fixing and corporate and corrupt “cooperative” malfeasance.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


