Greener Curls

June 17, 2009 at 5:48 pm 2 comments

green_shampooI actually did have green hair for a little while as a teenager. It was during my “let’s dye our hair every month” phase, back when I could tolerate the smell of peroxide and that lovely burning scalp feeling. I didn’t intend to have green hair – I was going for black, and somehow it came out a kind of patchy army green color. Very flattering.

But this post isn’t about hair colors, it’s about hair cleanliness, and it comes in the form of a recommendation from my homegirl Francesca (Cessi), who always looks great and I totally trust her advice. This is what she writes:

So a friend suggested I try eliminating shampoo and conditioner, most of which aren’t so green, including a lot of organic brands. Anyways, the regime is especially good for wavy or curly hair and purported to restore a natural balance to your scalp’s oils. I discovered a plethora of stuff online about this no-poo lifestyle and have been using baking soda for cleansing and apple cider vinegar for conditioning for a few months. So far so good…probably better than before actually. And with no dirty-hippy results. Here’s a website with info./instructions and some good links at the bottom: http://babyslime.livejournal.com/174054.html

Thanks for the advice, Cessi! I plan to give it a try once I run out of my pseudo-green Nature’s Gate shampoo and conditioner.

Entry filed under: health and beauty. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Raw Shame

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jude  |  June 17, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    A little more than a year ago I saw an interview with a crazy but very successful Hollywood stylist — he said Don’t Wash Your Hair. So, per his advice, I stopped washing more than twice a week — and my hair has never been healthier.

    Reply
  • 2. Alex van Vianen  |  January 23, 2010 at 5:19 am

    I just heard about your blog on CBC last week and its my new favorite thing!! I have been feeling the guilt lately-and for some reason it feels good to feel bad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


